Fashion Personalities Recognised in New Year Honours List

A number of individuals from the British fashion industry were honoured in The Queen’s New Year Honours List. Stella McCartney received an OBE (Officer of the British Empire) and Harriet Vine and Rosie Wolfenden (founders of label Tatty Devine) received an MBE (Member of the British Empire) for their services to the fashion industry. Other recipients included Caryn Franklin, founder of All Walks Beyond Catwalk, who was awarded an MBE for services to diversity in the fashion industry, and Sheila Fleet who received an OBE for services to the jewellery industry.

The New Year Honours has been a part of the British honours system since 1890, where New Year’s Day, 1 January, is marked by naming new members of orders of chivalry and recipients of other official honours. The awards are presented by or in the name of the reigning monarch, currently Queen Elizabeth II or her vice-regal representative.