American Institute of Architects Announces 2013 Institute Honor Awards

The American Institute of Architects (AIA) announced on 14 January 2013 the recipients of the 2013 Institute Honor Awards, the profession’s highest recognition of works that exemplify excellence in architecture, interior architecture and urban design. Selected from over 700 total submissions, 28 recipients located throughout the world will be honored at the AIA 2013 National Convention and Design Exposition in Denver.

2013 Institute Honor Awards for Architecture:

  • Art Stable; Seattle – Olson Kundig Architects
  • The Barnes Foundation; Philadelphia – Tod Williams Billie Tsien Architects
  • Boat Pavilion for Long Dock Park; Beacon, New York – Architecture Research Office (ARO)
  • Centra Metropark; Iselin, New Jersey – Kohn Pedersen Fox (KPF)
  • Clemson University, Lee Hall College of Architecture; Clemson, South Carolina – Thomas Phifer and Partners
  • Mason Lane Farm Operations Facility; Goshen, Kentucky – De Leon & Primmer Architecture Workshop
  • Milstein Hall, Cornell University; Ithaca, New York – OMA
  • Morse and Ezra Stiles Colleges; New Haven, Connecticut – KieranTimberlake
  • The New York Public Library – Exterior Restoration; New York City – Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc.
  • Saint Nicholas Eastern Orthodox Church; Springdale, Arkansas – Marlon Blackwell Architect
  • Vancouver Convention Centre West; Vancouver, Canada – LMN Architects + MCM/DA

2013 Institute Honor Awards for Interior Architecture:

  • Blessed Sacrament Chapel and Abbey Church Pavilion (Modifications to Marcel Breuer’s 1961 St.John’s Abbey Church Project); Collegeville, Minnesota – VJAA
  • BNIM Iowa; Des Moines – BNIM
  • Charles Smith Wines Tasting Room and World Headquarters; Walla Walla, Washington – Olson Kundig Architects
  • Chicago Apartment; Chicago – VJAA
  • Doc Magic; Torrance, California – RA-DA
  • Lamar Advertising Corporate Headquarters; Baton Rouge – Eskew+Dumez+Ripple
  • McAllen Main Library; McAllen, Texas – Meyer, Scherer & Rockcastle, Ltd. (MS&R)
  • PACCAR Hall (interior), Foster School of Business, University of Washington; Seattle – LMN Architects
  • Todd Bolender Center for Dance and Creativity; Kansas City, Missouri – BNIM

2013 Institute Honor Awards for Regional & Urban Design:

  • Burnham Place at Union Station Master Plan; Washington, D.C. – Shalom Baranes Associates, PC HOK
  • Coal Harbour Convention District; Vancouver, Canada – LMN Architects + MCM/DA
  • The Great Lakes Century – a 100-year Vision; Great Lakes Region, United States – Skidmore, Owings and Merrill
  • Nanhu New Country Village Master Plan; Nanhu District, Jiaxing, China – Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
  • National September 11 Memorial; New York City – Handel Architects
  • Parkmerced Vision Plan; San Francisco – Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
  • Rock Street Pocket Housing (RSPH); Little Rock, Arkansas – University of Arkansas Community Design Center
  • Superkilen; Copenhagen, Denmark – BIG – Bjarke Ingels Group